To ensure a safe development environment, specific age requirements apply when using the Collaborate feature within Roblox Studio’s Team Create. While solo creators can use Studio and Team Create alone without an age check, these guidelines apply when working with others in a shared session.
Who can I collaborate with?
To collaborate with others, you must first complete an age check via Facial Age Estimation or ID Verification. Your age determines your default collaboration group. No further action is needed to collaborate with others in your age group.
To collaborate with team members outside your allowed age group, you must meet one of the following requirements when joining an experience for the first time:
-
Parental Permission: For users under 16, a parent can grant permission via a linked account to allow their child to use Team Create with creators outside their age group.
- Once this setting is adjusted, it’ll work indefinitely unless the parent changes it – permission is not required every time the creator accesses Team Create.
-
Trusted Friends: You can collaborate across age groups with trusted friends.
- Establishing trusted friends from Studio:
- If you are age-checked 13 and over, you can generate an invite link and share with the list of collaborators you need to establish trust with off-platform. Once the recipient clicks through the link to accept your trusted friend request, you two will become trusted friends.
- If you are age-checked under 13, you can bulk send a parental request for your linked parent to approve all collaborators you need to establish trust with as trusted friends. Once your parent approves a request, the receiver needs to accept the trusted friends request in their Roblox app.
- For more ways to become trusted friends via the Roblox App, visit How to add trusted friends.
- Establishing trusted friends from Studio:
FAQ
As an owner of a collaborative experience, can I be blocked from accessing my experience because of these requirements?
- You will never be blocked from accessing your experience due to age restrictions. However, you need to age check to allow other collaborators to join your experience.
- This is true even as a Group owner. You need to age check to enable other group members to collaborate in Team Create.
What if I’m collaborating with a large team?
When you are trying to establish trust with more than 30 creators at the same time to get access to a collaborative experience, creators under 16 will be required to get parental permission via the new Studio collaboration parental setting. Parental consent is the simplest and safest way to establish trust at this scale.
I’m under 16 and got my parent’s permission. Do I still need to be trusted friends with other creators under 16?
If you’re collaborating with another creator who is under 16 but is outside of your age range (e.g., if you’re 14 and they are 8), you will need to either:
- Become trusted friends with one another to continue collaborating, or
- Ensure you both have your parents change the new parental control to “All age groups”
What if I have Team Create on but have no collaborators added to the experience?
An age check is not needed to create experiences or work by yourself in Team Create. You will be required to age check when another creator is given Edit access to the experience.
What if my group’s experience doesn’t have Team Create on, but group roles have edit access?
Group members with Edit access can continue to work by themselves in the experiences that have Team Create off. When Team Create is turned on to enable shared editing, all group members with Edit access will be required to age check to access the experience.
As an owner of a collaborative experience, I don’t want to complete an age check. What happens then?
- Your collaborators won’t be able to access the collaborative experience (Team Create enabled, with co-editors) if you don’t age check.
- This is true even as a Group owner -- you need to age check to enable other group members to collaborate in Team Create.
- Users with Edit permissions to your experience but blocked from joining will continue to have the ability to create a copy (via Save As to Roblox) of the experience.
Can I still collaborate in an experience where some collaborators haven’t age checked?
Collaborators who haven’t age checked will be blocked from collaboration and will not impact others’ ability to collaborate.
What do I do if I was incorrectly placed in the wrong age group and can no longer work with my team?
- For users under 18: Linked parents can correct the age of users who are put into the incorrect age group. Users 13 and older can also verify their identity using a government-issued ID.
- For users 18 and older: You can re-check your age once if you were placed in the wrong age group through your account settings.
Is there a limit on how many trusted friends someone can have?
Currently, you can have up to 1000 friends total between regular friends and trusted friends.