What is Party?
Party is an easy way for users to group up and play their favorite games together. Instead of joining games alone and trying to find each other, a Party keeps your group connected from start to finish.
How Parties work
- Stay together: Join games as a single group and stay in the same servers without needing to re-coordinate.
- Seamless travel: Move between different games together without losing your connection.
- Private communication: Chat with your friends/group of friends directly in real time while you play.
- Open invites: Any active Party member can invite friends (up to a maximum of 6 users per Party).
Any active Party member can invite friends to join.
All users can create or join a Party. Some features (like chat or voice) depend on your age and Trusted friends settings.
How to use Party
Start a Party
You can start a Party from multiple places:
-
From the Chat tab:
- Select Start Party.
- Add friends you want to play with.
- Select Start.
-
From a friend or group:
- Open a chat with a friend or group.
- Select Start in the top right corner.
Join a Party
- From a notification: Select Join from the invitation notification.
-
If you miss the invite:
- Open the Chat tab
- Find a group with an active Party
- Select Join
Invite friends
Any active Party member can invite others.
- Open your menu from the Party sheet.
- Select Add Friends.
- Choose who to invite.
Note: You can only invite existing friends, and there is a maximum of 6 users allowed in a single Party.
Choosing and switching games
Any active Party member can pick a game to play.
- Open your menu from the Party sheet.
- Select Play.
- Choose a game
- Select Join with Party.
Your entire Party will receive invites to join your selected game. While joining together is the goal, members can choose to play a different game but stay connected to the Party.
Leave an active Party
- Open your Party
- Select the red close button.
You can still Party Chat with the group asynchronously, but you will no longer navigate or play together.
Communication in a Party
Your group can coordinate and chat privately while playing.
Depending on your settings, you can use:
- Chat with friends: Send text messages to everyone in your Party while playing or between games
- Voice Chat with Friends: Talk with your Party in real time during gameplay.
- Switching chat types: When inside a game, if you are in an active Party, you will see a Party icon in your top menu where you can open Friends Chat at any time.
Features by age group
Access depends on age, trusted friend status, and region.
| Age Group | Communication Settings |
| Under 9 | Not eligible for Chat. |
| 9 - 12 | Chat outside a game is only available with trusted friends by default. Parental approval is required to change. |
| 13 - 17 | Chat available with all friends, dependent on age groups. |
| 18 and up | Chat without filters and voice chat with friends available with other 18 and over users. |
What trusted friends unlocks
By adding Trusted friends, you can unlock additional features within Party to enhance your experience.
With Trusted friends, you may be able to:
- Communicate across different age groups (when allowed)
- Use additional chat or voice features based on your settings
Access depends on age, trusted friend status, and region.
| Age Group | What trusted friends unlocks |
| Under 9 | Not eligible for Chat. |
| 9 - 12 | Filtered chat with trusted friends. |
| 13 -17 | Chat without filters and voice chat with any trusted friend. |
Frequently Asked Questions
What platforms is Party available on?
Party is available on mobile (iOS and Android), desktop, and console.
Can users switch between Party Chat and Experience Chat?
Yes. Party Chat is situated near Experience Chat in the game control menu. You can click on either icon to switch back and forth.
What is the difference between a Party and an active Party?
- A Party is your asynchronous group. It allows you to send Party chat messages, stay connected, and start an Active Party.
- An Active Party happens when you select Start a Party. This creates a link between members for co-play, and it enables the Party API and additional features.
How do active Parties stay together in games?
When you join, a server is found that can accommodate all participants. Roblox maintains a link so members can regroup at any point. In supported games using the Party API, your group may:
- Spawn at the same location.
- Share similar avatar clothing.
- Move through the game together and stay on the same matchmaking team.
Can I be in more than one active Party?
You can be invited to multiple active Parties, but you can only be actively participating in one Party at a time.
What happens if someone leaves the active Party?
- The rest of the Party stays together and can continue playing
- The player who left is not longer a part of the active coplay session
- The player who left can still send Party chat messages
Any previous active Party participant can rejoin at anytime or be reinvited
What safety and privacy measures are in place?
We’re always thinking about how we can make Roblox one of the safest online environments for people of all ages to connect.
How Party keeps you safe
- Friends only: Only your friends can add you to Party chats.
- User control: You can edit your connection list, block users, or remove yourself from a Party at any time.
Customizing your settings
Users can also limit or turn off Party in Settings > Privacy & content maturity > Communication > Party.
- Who can add you to a 1:1 Party: Choose Friends (default) or No one (Selecting No one disables participation in Party and Party Chat).
- Who can add you to a group Party: Choose Friends (allows you to be in a group up to 6 people) or No one.
Note: If settings for Party are set to No one, then Group Party will also be defaulted to No one because this disables the Party feature.
Please note that chats are monitored for safety, and our moderation policies in keeping with our Community Standards still apply. Users can continue to report violations using our Report Abuse feature and block other users as needed.