Roles help you organize your community and give members special abilities in the community. Community owners can create additional roles with custom names and permissions, such as a “Moderator” or an “Admin” role.
Understanding the base membership role
Every community automatically includes a base membership role. This is the starting point for everyone who joins the community.
- Every member is assigned this role by default.
- This role cannot be deleted.
- Community owners can edit its permissions to decide what every member can do by default.
How to assign roles to members
A community member always has the base membership role and can also have one or more additional roles. Their abilities combine the permissions from all of their roles.
To assign or remove a role:
- Go to Communities and select your community.
- Select the three dots menu (...), then select Configure Community.
- Select Members in the sidebar.
- Find the member and use the role controls next to their name to add or remove roles.
You must be the community owner or have the correct permission to manage member roles. You can only assign roles below your highest role if you are not the community owner.
Creating, updating, and deleting roles
Community owners and members with manage roles permissions can create new roles for free.
To create a role:
- Go to Communities and select your community.
- Select the three dots menu (...), then select Configure Community.
- Select Roles in the sidebar.
- Select Create role.
- Choose a unique role name for your new role.
- You can also decide whether a role is created as public or private. Public roles can be shown on a community page and in experiences. Private roles are typically only shown on community management pages.
This will create a new role with the default permissions. To edit these permissions and see what each one does, see the following Editing a Role and Its Permissions section.
To update a role:
- Select an existing role in the list.
- Go to the Permissions tab to set the permissions you want users in that role to have.
- Go to the Members tab to add or remove users from the role, and see who is in this role.
- Go to the Settings tab to update the name, color, and visibility of the role.
- Drag roles in the sidebar to reorder them.
Roles are listed in order of authority. A role higher in the list has more authority than a role below it. Move a role in the list to change its position. For certain permissions, you are not permitted to take action against a member whose highest role is equal to or higher than your own.
To delete a role:
- Select an existing role in the list.
- Go to the Settings tab of the role.
- Select Delete role.
Deleting a role removes it from members who have it, but does not remove those members from the community. The base membership role cannot be deleted.
Understanding role permissions
Community owners can edit roles and their permissions from within the Roles tab of the Configure Community page. If a member has multiple roles, they have the combined permissions of all of their roles.
When editing a role, you can toggle the following permissions:
| Category | Permission | What it allows |
| General | Manage roles | Create, edit, delete, reorder, and assign or remove lower roles. Members can edit only permissions on roles that they have themselves. |
| Assign or remove roles from members | Assign or remove roles below their own highest role. | |
| Invite or approve members | Invite people and approve join requests. | |
| Kick members | Remove members whose highest role is below the member's own. | |
| Ban members | Ban members whose highest role is below the member's own. | |
| Configure group profile | Change the name, description, emblem, cover photo and social links of the community. | |
| View audit logs |
View the community audit log.
For more information on this feature, see Viewing Your Community's Activity (Community Audit Log). |
|
| Manage allies and enemies | Manage the community's relationships to other communities. | |
| Creations | Playtest experiences | Play all community-owned experiences that are published in limited form. |
| Edit experiences | Create and edit community-owned experiences and assets. | |
| Publish experiences | Create, edit and publish community-owned experiences and assets. | |
| Manage share links | Create, update and delete share links for experiences. | |
| Manage experience events | Create, update and delete manage experience events. | |
| Moderate experiences | Access read-only in-experience chat (must be 18+) and manage bans for community-owned experiences. | |
| Manage monetization for experiences | Create, update and delete monetization products for community-owned experiences. | |
| Manage secrets for experiences | Create, update and delete development secrets for community-owned experiences. | |
| Analytics | View analytics for experiences | View analytics for community-owned experiences. |
| Manage alerts | Create, update and delete analytics alerts. | |
| Monetization | View group revenue | View the community's Robux balance, revenue, and payout information. |
| Manage and spend group revenue |
Manage community revenue and make payouts.
For more information, see Community Clothing, Revenue Management, and Payouts. |
|
| Create ad campaigns for the group | Create advertising campaigns for the community. | |
| Avatar items | Create avatar items |
Create new community-owned avatar items, such as clothing and accessories.
For more information, see Community Clothing, Revenue Management, and Payouts. |
| Configure avatar items |
Configure details of community-owned avatar items, such as clothing and accessories.
For more information, see Community Clothing, Revenue Management, and Payouts. |
|
| API | Manage API keys | Manage Open Cloud API keys for the community. |
| Development items | View development items | View community-owned development items, such as audio. |
| Manage development items | Upload and configure development items, such as decals. | |
| Manage development item permissions | Manage permissions for development items, such as audio sharing. | |
| Data Stores | View Data Stores for experiences | View Data Stores for community-owned experiences. |
| Edit Data Stores for experiences | Edit data in Data Stores for community-owned experiences. | |
| Delete Data Stores for experiences | Delete Data Stores for community-owned experiences. | |
| Notifications | Manage webhooks for experiences | Manage webhooks for community-owned experiences. |
| Posts | View community announcements | View community announcements. |
| Create community announcements | Post new community announcements. | |
| Forums | Manage categories | Manage forum categories. |
| Create posts | Create forum posts. | |
| Remove posts | Remove forum posts. | |
| Lock posts | Lock forum posts. | |
| Pin posts | Pin forum posts. | |
| Create comments | Create comments on forum posts. | |
| Remove comments | Remove comments from forum posts. | |
| Content moderation | View content moderation | View the blocked words for the community. |
| Manage content moderation | Add, edit and remove blocked words for the community. | |
| Miscellaneous | Bypass slow mode | Post and comment without being affected by the slow mode cooldown of the community forum. |
| View community analytics | View analytics about the community itself. |